• The Ginger Cat B&B

  • (8)
    22
    Loading...
  • Hotel B&B
    Vegan
Breakfast

Vegan bed and breakfast nestled on 15 wooded acres few miles northwest of Watkins Glen, minutes from Farm Sanctuary. Check in between 3-5 but early check in can be accommodated. Open Mon-Sun 3:00pm-5:00pm.


Venue map for The Ginger Cat B&B
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by michaeljfisher

tfish

Points +2754

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

A lovely stay—thanks Gita!

We had a great stay. The house was very clean, the property is peaceful, and Gita is a great person to talk to. Plus breakfast was delicious, so nice to have a fully homecooked vegan breakfast that we didn't have to cook ourselves. Would for sure stay here again!

TheloniousG

Points +358

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

A lovely place to relax

We stayed 3 nights. A pleasant homey place decorated with many cat tchotchkes and pictures, among other things. The bed was very comfortable. So many teas to chose from! Breakfasts were lovely and such a relief not to have to worry about what is safe to eat. Gita is a true animal lover and a kind and generous person. You can get your cat fix petting her gorgeous long haired black and white cat, Sebastian.

Pros: Lovely yard, Vegan breakfast!, Dark sky, see many stars and fireflies

SandyKleger

Points +27

Vegan
03 Sep 2021

Comfortable, in the very best way

As soon as you meet Gita, you’re welcomed into her home and there’s a connection like a friend or an aunt you haven’t seen in a long time. She has advice to give on where to go if you need it, whether it be for wineries, dinner, activities, etc. And of course it is so wonderful not to worry about food and bath supplies being vegan while you’re there. Although we had some great conversations she also gave us plenty of privacy.

She has beautiful gardens and even harvests a little to add to breakfast, like the blackberries we had and she gave us a sprig of catnip to take home to our kitties. Kale recipe was really yummy! She has no problem sharing her recipe ( like I said, she’s like a friend you’re stopping in to visit) and so I’ll be trying that one out at home. She tries to keep up to date with changes in businesses to pass the information onto her guests. She also uses local produce whenever possible.

Home is clean and unpretentious. Has everything you need. Cozy and comfortable. I wish the weather had been warmer because Gita said the sky is dark enough there to see the milky way at night. We actually had quite a bit of space to ourselves because of COVID. She takes extra precautions. I also like that she is big on recycling which is important to me and so often overlooked if you’re at a hotel.

Cats are sectioned off in her part of the house which is separate from where guests stay. We were invited to meet them and I got to see three of the four of her beautiful cats. So if you’re not a cat person or allergic, allergies should be minimal as they do not have the run of the house. And if you’re a cat lover, they’re there to meet.

Location couldn’t be better. She’s really within minutes of everything you could want to go to, but not right there where it is busy and loud at high tourism times. The house is located on a very quite rural street.

We definitely plan to come back for another visit.

Pros: 100% vegan, Hostess very knowledgeable , Clean

veggivet

Points +175

Vegan
29 Aug 2020

#1 B&B in Watkins Glen Area

The Ginger Cat is the epitome of what a B&B should be. The fact that it is vegan is an added bonus. You won't find any pretentious vibes here, just a great hostess and cook who knows the area like the back of her hand. Other places try to impress with antique furniture or the like, with some hosts acting like they're doing you a favor by letting you stay in their 'palace'. Rooms here are very comfy, and the entire house is immaculate. Gita even lets me use her garage for my track car! Hanging out on the back deck is very relaxing and overlooks her beautiful gardens. The food Gita prepares is outstanding! She makes sure I stay 'fueled up' for my day at the track. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Pros: Great location for Farm Sanctuary, WGI, wineries.

Cons: Only two rooms available during normal times., Shared bathroom.

MichaelSavegan

Points +2118

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

Love it!

Great place outside of the town of Watkins Glen. A slice of heaven with a comfortable room and the best breakfast!

And your host, Gita, will make sure you have a great stay if you are visiting Farm Sanctuary, the state park or the races.

Pros: Comfort, Breakfast

Vegan GiGi

Points +1036

Vegan
15 May 2016

Lovely getaway near Farm Sanctuary in upstate NY

My partner and I absolutely loved our one-night stay at Ginger Cat this past Valentine's Day. When we arrived, Gita surprised us with two delicious heart-shaped chocolate desserts in our room. The breakfast that we were treated to the next morning was just as delicious! She made us coconut yogurt parfaits with granola and berries, banana muffins, waffles with fruit and maple syrup, and hash browns.

Ginger Cat is really close to wine country, and we got to visit one winery for a tasting and another for dinner. On her website, Gita has a listing of vegan-friendly wineries.

Gita was a perfect hostess; we loved talking with her over breakfast and afterwards. Her cats are extremely sweet, but they are kept in a separate area if you're allergic or just not a fan. We could have hung out with the cats all day and stayed another night quite easily :)

If you're looking to do the wine trails nearby or want to visit Farm Sanctuary in nearby Watkins Glen, you'll love staying at Ginger Cat!

Pros: quiet and relaxing, friendly owner and cats, delicious breakfast

Michael X. James

Points +952

Vegan
21 Jul 2015

Stay here. It's great.

Gita's place is great. The entire place is full of a beauty, peace and love. You will never find a more welcoming place to stay. Gita makes the best breakfast. The first day we had a tofu frittata pie, bake apple oatmeal, sauteed kale with cashews, almond yogurt with fresh fruit, salad and a few other things. The second day was make-your-own burrito day plus the yogurt parfait and blueberry muffins. The blueberry muffins were great! She even gave us the recipe. All the food was abundant and delicious. Almost everything was local...even some fruits and veggies from her very own garden! There is plenty of coffee or tea options too.

Gita is knowledgeable about the local area too so ask her about the best places to go and the times to go to them and you'll be very happy. We had a plan and instead followed Gita's recommendation and it was perfect! You can ignore any other reviews about the sulfur in the water because she's gotten that all taken care of so there's no need to bring your own water. We came prepared to use a few gallons and didn't use any (other than to drink with on our ride home). The B&B is very close to vineyards (Lakewood is the best, skip Castle Grisch, Glenora is ok) and downtown Watkins Glen (about an 8 min ride at the most). Everything was clean and welcoming. Brochures about every place you could think about going to...and anything else you can just ask Gita for more info. A lot of great books to read too. It can get a little warm at night in the summer but the rooms have fans (at least Ariel room does). There is A/C that she typically runs during the day if it's really hot out.

If you're coming to Watkins Glen, there's no better place to stay than the Ginger Cat :)

Pros: Vegan heaven, Great location, Welcoming home

Cons: None, really.

michaeljfisher

Points +18

Vegan
14 Aug 2014

Amazing Place for Vegans!

This is a wonderful B&B, especially for vegans! The host, Gita, is super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The house is clean and welcoming and is set on 15 acres of beautiful country property. It's only a 5 minute drive into Watkins Glen, and 10 minutes to Farm Sanctuary. She has a number of very friendly cats that are not allowed in the guest quarters, but you can go in and play with them whenever you want!

The food is phenomenal. We had Sat/Sun brunches and it's vegan home cooking at it's best. Gita makes a variety of tasty vegan dishes with lots of local and organic ingredients, some even from her own garden!

Even the bathroom is outfitted with vegan products (shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc.) and is clean and well maintained.

We would highly recommend this B&B to any vegan visiting Watkins Glen!

Pros: Totally vegan!, Quiet, Friendly (both Gita and the cats)




This page has been viewed 13232 times.