Breakfast

An animal-friendly and eco-friendly country retreat on 46 secluded acres. The house features 5 luxurious sun-filled rooms, and guests are served gourmet vegan breakfast prepared with many ingredients sourced locally or from its gardens. For more information see the website. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-9:00pm.


19 Reviews

First Review by sundogsdave

kate.godfrey

Points +156

Vegan
05 Jun 2024

Fantastic Experience

Our time at Sundogs was amazing. We were able to start each morning with coffee while listening and watching the birds on their beautiful wrap-around porch which overlooks the gardens. The food was absolutely incredible, I’m still dreaming about the peach shortcake. In the evening we enjoyed the well-maintained trails and visiting with their goats. Thanks to the sweet owners, it was all around such a wonderful experience and we plan to return in the future.

Pros: Plant-based breakfast, Everything is so clean!, Beautiful trails

Plant Powered Eater

Points +501

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Don’t Miss—This B&B is Great on All Fronts!

We had only a short visit at Sundogs because we used the night to break up a long trip. However, we’ll be back sometime for a long weekend—for sure!

Our room was elegant & comfortable. We stayed in Sunny & probably would request it again, but I bet all the rooms are nice. The hosts, Peggy & Dave, were hospitable & had helpful suggestions. Our breakfast was superb. We felt really pampered. The grounds also were beautifully landscaped and seemed to have plenty of nice trails we never had time to explore.

Pros: Great breakfast, Nice ambience, Quiet

Cons: None

greenbluegray

Points +1365

Vegan
30 May 2023

Spacious ethical secluded retreat

We were the only vegans during our stay and the only people without a dog, lol. The ethics/breakfasts were the draw for us, and it is great to see omnivores enjoying delicious plant-based food; I bet this sets dog lovers to thinking. Breakfasts were large and filling, a good balance between decadent and healthy. We enjoyed seeing the canine guests, who were all polite and adorable.

The house is very well-designed, comfortable, and thought-out, for example the amazing rain-style showers and wrap-around porches which are both open and screened. Our room had 4 windows plus one in the bathroom! Everything seems new. There is now a fridge on floor 2 where the rooms are, so we could stash our leftovers, and you can also use the beverage fridge downstairs and big ice machine and enjoy some free seltzer. It is nice that there is a restroom downstairs too, because we spent a lot of time sitting on the porches and wandering the property, visiting the goats and stream. When we first arrived, a sweet kitty popped out of the bushes to greet us. I bet they have some great events here.

I admire how people have a dream and then make it happen, and I love how inn owners, especially vegan ones, come to their path. It is clear that Peggy and David took their time and designed this 2018 building exactly the way they wanted it based on a lot of travel. We live to visit vegan businesses and will be back.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-30

jcartz

Points +361

Vegan
23 Apr 2023

Wonderful Experience

My partner & I booked Sundogs B&B because it is a vegan bed and breakfast that encourages owners to bring their pups. Before even getting there we found out Sundogs would supply bowls and dog beds to reduce how much we had to pack. Upon arrival we were greeted and informed of all there is to do in Shepherdstown. The B&B was gorgeous, and the grounds were so peaceful. Both David and Peggy were incredibly warm & it truly felt like you were at home. The food was out of this world, and it was so nice to be able to travel with our companions. Shepherdstown is a great place to visit, many dog friendly restaurants and shops. A lot to do! Definitely recommend staying here.

Pros: Vegan breakfast, Dog friendly, Beautiful scenery

DEdoc

Points +276

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

Oasis of ecofriendliness!

Agree with previous reviews. Very friendly hosts running a modern vegan, minimum waste, beatiful B & B in harmony with nature. We didn’t come with a dog but see why many would. Be sure to visit the goats!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-03

Pros: Delicious homemade vegan breakfast, Dietary requests otherwise are asked about, Plentiful walking paths on the property

chefvi13

Points +107

Vegan
05 May 2022

We will come back :D

My partner, his parents, and our pups loved our stay here! We visited in mid-April and we had a great time. The breakfasts were delicious, our rooms were spacious and comfy, and the hosts were very welcoming. Peggy and David gave us great suggestions during our Shepherdstown stay. We also loved visiting the goats!!! Definitely going to come back 😃

Note: the Wi-Fi is slow, but we didn't mind because we were prepared with books and board games. There also isn't a microwave - but our party didn't need one!

Pros: Breakfast was delicious and fully plant-based, Bedroom was comfy and the bathroom was so nice!!!, Super pup friendly with trails

Cons: Slow wifi, No microwave

AnnieHalsey

Points +26

Vegan
08 Apr 2022

West Virginia Oasis

My dog Daisy and I had a delightful one-night stay at SunDogs in early April. We were the only guests and loved having the spacious and comfortable house to ourselves. David met us at the front door and made sure we had everything we needed. We then took advantage of the expansive grounds and set out to town for an evening stroll and dinner. I loved the quiet of the property, which allowed me to appreciate all the bird songs in the morning! I was also extremely pleasantly surprised to see a thermos of coffee waiting for me when Daisy got me up for a walk and breakfast! And speaking of breakfast, the Benedict was sublime! Thank you so much for a lovely getaway; we will be back!

Two small suggestions: an accessible microwave and fridge for leftovers would be nice.

greenearthtravel

Points +90

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Great weekend getaway!

We have been going there since it opened in 2019
We love it because it is only one hour away from the DC area
Love the location Shepherdstown as they have lots of vegan options in town and love the small town atmosphere

Pros: Great breakfast, Location is perfect for getting out of the city, Pet friendly is a plus.

Natasha_Rae

Points +38

Vegan
02 Jan 2022

Great getaway

I can't say enough positive things about Sundogs Bed and Breakfast. The accomodations were excellent, the food was terrific, the property was fun to explore, our hosts were warm, welcoming and intelligent and Shepherdstown was quaint and fun to shop. Great times!!

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-02

Pros: Vegan, Dog-friendly , Eco-friendly

bsimmonds

Points +128

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

Perfect Getaway

We loved our weekend getaway at Sundogs. It felt like such a treat to have vegan as the default, and David & Peggy were gracious hosts. Our dog loved exploring the expansive property, and the house is airy, modern, and comfortable. We visited a chilly weekend in November, and I would love to visit again to see the gardens when they are in full bloom!

Blissgirl786

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 Jun 2021

Unique and wonderful

Sundogs Bed and Breakfast was really wonderful. The rooms were just as pictured on website, Just gorgeous. The food was gourmet. And the grounds were just beautiful.
I was so pleased to find a vegetarian place to stay. Well worth the trip.

Pros: The rooms, The food, The grounds

Cons: Limited vegetarian options for dinner

Kfiorenza

Points +26

Vegan
25 May 2021

A little piece of heaven on earth!!

Peggy and David are the most gracious hosts! Their love for nature and all sentient beings consumes the atmosphere. The food was absolutely delicious and the accommodations impeccable. The grounds were a sight to behold...serenity at it's best!! Even my cat didn't want to leave...haha!! Already planning our next trip back!!

RachelNaugle

Points +8

Non Veg
06 Nov 2020

PERFECT STAY

Sundogs is the perfect little get away! Not too far from DC but it feels like a true escape. David and Peggy do a wonderful job making you feel at home, giving you everything you need for your stay. Cannot recommend Sundogs enough and already looking forward to coming back for another stay!

Pros: Spectacular views, Comfortable bed, Delicious Breakfast

LisaBLovesToTravel

Points +16

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

Can’t wait to go back!

Sundogs B&B is wonderful! The rooms are gorgeous, the food is absolutely incredible, and dogs are welcome. I was there for two days and loved the fresh-baked scones and turnovers, the apple French toast and breakfast frittata. Everything is vegan, and even though many guests are not vegan, everyone loves the food! There’s lots to do in town and the surrounding areas. Peggy and David are the perfect hosts, and I enjoyed meeting some of their rescued animals, including the goats and chickens. The gardens and hiking trails on the property are fun to explore. I love this place and can’t wait to go back!

Pros: Excellent food, Beautiful rooms , Friendly staff

atp528

Points +151

Vegan
06 Jan 2020

Amazing vegan retreat near DC area

My husband and I visited Sundogs to celebrate his birthday around Christmas time. We were coming from the DC area and the drive was just short enough to do on a Friday night after work but long enough to feel like a retreat from the city. Peggy and David were fantastic hosts, and we had such a wonderful and peaceful weekend on their beautiful property. The inn itself is new construction and is completely gorgeous—Sundogs thought of everything! We also really enjoyed the delicious vegan cooking and sweet rescue goats and chickens. Our dogs loved daily hikes on the expansive property, and we enjoyed reading by the fire, exploring the outdoors, and visiting downtown Shepherdstown (which is extremely dog-friendly—even in restaurants!). We can’t wait to visit again.

Pros: Entirely vegan, Dog-friendly accommodations , Beautiful indoor and outdoor property

Cons: None!

Infomore

Points +13

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2019

Luxurious B&B, Amazing Hosts, Food, and Setting

Everyone in the Philly/Baltimore/DC area should think about visiting here! We came from further away and would return. The B&B is very close to the fabulous arts and restaurant scene of historic Shepherdstown, but located in a bucolic setting of rolling hills and farms.
The owners, Peggy and David, are horticulturalists and animal-lovers, with impeccable taste in food and furnishings. The grounds attract lovely butterflies and birds. There are mown walking paths all over the 46 acre property. The owners have goats that are retired Broadway stars (yes you theater goers, Showgoats!), as well as rescue chickens.
The bed and breakfast is gorgeous--wrap around porches with tables for breakfast, an entirely screened side porch, a front porch too. The open-plan first floor has a beautiful, comfortable living room and fireplace, and a dining area with many tables. There is a small kitchenette with wine, and soft drinks to enjoy. Snacks are available from 4-6 PM-- homemade hummus, olives one day, chick pea "tuna", fresh watermelon. Homemade, hearty, vegan or vegetarian breakfast is available from 6:30 AM—fresh fruit, homemade biscuits, jam, quiche, oatmeal, even eggs from the rescue chickens.
Upstairs the sleeping and bathrooms are luxurious and comfortable. The owners continue to think of all the right touches. Dog blankets, beds, a guest fridge, even cleaning supplies are on offer.
The C&O tow path, Shepherdstown theater and Harper's Ferry historic sites and hikes are nearby.

Pros: Excellent food, Beautiful setting for wildlife, hiking, relaxing, Great restaurants, sites, and arts nearby

Cons: Remote if you're outside of VA/PA/MD/WV area, Never want to leave!

CherylKelley

Points +59

Vegan
19 Jul 2019

Wow...the best for humans and dogs! (Native species,too!!!)

We were fortunate to stay at this lovely inn on our way to Virginia to visit our daughter. Peggy and David are gracious hosts with a beautifully built brand new inn. The home is spacious,comfortable, sparkling clean with screened in porches, great sitting rooms with a lovely dog book library and beautiful grounds. The are warm wonderful people willing to share their knowledge about dog behavior and training (Peggy), vegan recipes (David) and their Broadway starring goats and chickens. The grounds are beautiful and I can't wait to see their evolution as Peggy is a master horticulturist with a passion for native plants. This is already paying off with so, so many butterflies during the day and an exquisite light show by fireflies in the evening. A pre breakfast walk down to the stream is a treat. The breakfast is incredible and I hope many non vegans stay here because this is a glorious entry into the plant based world. The food rivaled any of the 5 star NYC restaurants I've ever had....coupled with the hosts and venue it far exceeds them.
Also, the unexpected wine and homemade bread/pizza, hummus, olives,...in the late afternoon was an unexpected delight> My only sadness was we were travelling without our dog. We will return to rectify that and hope to stay longer next visit!!

As an aside, Shepherdstown is a delightful university town with art galleries, a wonderful bookstore, and good restaurants. This town hosts world class theatre and movies festivals which give even more reason for a stay at Sundogs

Pros: venue: beautiful inn, beautiful grounds and VEGAN, hosts: warm, welcoming, friendly, and VEGAN, great food, great rooms, great walks

Cons: There are NONE

courtneyy

Points +16

Vegan
07 Jun 2019

10/10 Recommend! Vegan, hospitality, dog friendly = paradise!

I can't stop thinking about this place! This was our first trip with our dog and we are so happy we decided to go here. We stayed for two nights and can't wait to go back - sooner rather than later! We wished we stayed longer! Definitely "where cool dogs take their people!"

When we arrived, we were kindly greeted with snacks and drinks (even treats for our dog). Peggy and David gave us many recommendations on what to do around their place, Shephardstown and Harpers Ferry. Their farm is serene, well-designed and meant for relaxation. We have never felt more at home! The house was super clean and well kept. We loved the landscaping and design on the exterior as well.

The food was unforgettably AMAZING - so much flavor and love is put into their dishes. We were served a wide range of food and snacks from savory to sweet. You will not be disappointed!

Peggy and David were lovely hosts! We couldn't have asked for anyone better. SO MUCH HOSPITALITY! If you need anything, do not be afraid to ask! They gave us our privacy, but also connected with us and our dog. They cared about who we are and what we wanted out of our stay. They shared recipe ideas, wildlife knowledge and future plans for their farm. We can't wait to see what happens next!

Lastly, be sure to catch the lightning bug show at night! It was truly incredible. We've never seen anything like it. It's a show you do not want to miss!

P.S. Don't forget to meet Sparky and Peapod (the goats) A.K.A the best mobile composts ever!

Pros: Delicious food, Hospitality, Peaceful

sundogsdave

Points +67

Vegan
Owner
27 Jul 2018

New B&B near Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia!

This new, built-from-scratch, bed and breakfast sits on 46 secluded acres about 5 minutes from Historic Shepherdstown, WV. Featuring spacious rooms and luxurious baths, this inn is dog-friendly with large dining and sitting areas (each with its own fireplace), a huge 3-sided wrap-around porch and large patio for relaxing and enjoying sunsets. The property has almost 2 miles of walking trails including access to picturesque Rockymarsh Run stream, and dog exercise paddocks. For breakfast you will savor full vegetarian fare comprised of home- and locally-grown ingredients. Get away from it all, only a short 1-2 hour drive from DC, Baltimore, and Richmond, and just a bit farther from Philly.

Pros: A spacious inn on a large country property, Full vegetarian breakfast in a warm atmosphere, Dog-friendly - walking trails, exercise paddocks




This page has been viewed 10716 times.