Offers a comfortable double-bed room complete with private bath, climate control, mini bar and independent access from a large patio. The owners are an Italian-Cuban couple who make vegan-friendly foods like pasta, rustic pies, stuffed vegetables, and soups. Location is in the Vedado neighborhood. Book via www.vegvisits.com. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-11:30pm.


Venue map for Hostal Patio de 27
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by lisa_sweden

proudloaf

Points +38

Vegan
28 Feb 2024

The best breakfasts in Cuba!

Cuba is not the easiest place for vegetarians and vegans, it takes a lot of exploration and luck (bring nuts and cereal bars!) However, Eduardo and Claudia provide an oasis of not just vegan food, but vegan food I'd happily pay for in any European capital city restaurant! Claudia also does evening meals as well as amazing breakfasts, and they are great at sorting out taxis and general advice. The flat is lovely and clean, it is a little far from the old town but that's not always a bad thing and taxis are easy. Thanks Eduardo and Claudia for the lovely stay, the chats and the rum!

Pros: Inventive food, Sustainable , Friendly

BeccaStrong

Points +41

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

Highlight of my trip

Staying with Eduardo and Claudia is my favorite thing I have done in 2 trips to Havana. They will welcome you in and treat you like family. They have a sweet dog and cats to keep you company while Claudia prepares delicious, scratch made, healthy vegan meals in a town where it is otherwise challenging to eat vegan. They will help you with absolutely anything you need help with, like arranging taxis and making recommendations about what to do. I would not stay anywhere else in Havana.

Pros: Warm and kind, Wifi available!!!, Great price

Cons: Not a very walkable location

cedmison

Points +77

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

There is none better in Habana.

Everything here was amazing. Stay. Eat. Eat and stay. We miss you Claudia and Eduardo (and Flo) and your amazing food and residence.

changrebecca

Points +13

Vegetarian
04 Mar 2023

Amazing Stay with Fantastic Hosts and Vegan Food!!

It was an absolute dream to stay with Eduardo and Claudia. They were so warm, caring, and responsive. Claudia's food was PHENOMENAL and so creative with the limited access to ingredients that she had. I would dare say she may be the best vegan chef on the whole island of Cuba.

The room was extremely clean and perfect for our needs, including a private bathroom and a wardrobe.

Eduardo met us at the airport with a sign of our names and helped us arrange a taxi back to the house.

The home is also centrally located in the Vedado neighborhood, which we found very artsy and creative. It was in close proximity to everything we wanted to visit, such as Habana Vieja, Barrio Chino, and la Plaza de la Revolución (where we found a colectivo to go to Viñales).

Plus, Flo their dog was the sweetest pup ever! We miss her very much.

If you will be in Havana, especially if you are vegetarian or vegan, you will fall in love with Eduardo and Claudia's home, cooking, and personalities.

KaeNineFingers

Points +6

Non Veg
01 Feb 2023

Delicious vegan raw desserts in Havana

I ordered an incredible raw, vegan chocolate avocado cake from Claudia for my partner's birthday. Claudia was very kind and easy to communicate with. The cake itself was beautifully decorated with starfruit and edible flowers, and the texture and flavour were truly divine. I couldn't find anyone else doing this kind of vegan dessert in Cuba, so I was thrilled that Claudia could provide something that was in alignment with my partner's dietary needs, and that was also delicious.
Thanks again Claudia!

hostalPatio27

02 Feb 2023

Muy agradecida con ustedes y feliz que les haya gustado el pastel

eidelman

Points +30

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

the place to stay in Havana if Vegan!

We had the best stay at the casa particular of Eduardo and Claudia when we visited Havana this December!

Eduardo and Claudia were so friendly and kind, helping us many times with many things, including airport pick-up, money exchange, and recommendations in the area. Consistently they went over and above!

The casa particular is in Vedado, a quiet area with interesting architecture. The area is easily walkable, and it’s about 25 minutes to the Malecon (beach) and a bit further to the hustle and bustle of the Plaza de Armas or Old Havana. We love to walk, and this was not a problem for us. The times we took a taxi it was easy and inexpensive. Also, it was only a 15 minute walk to Camino al Sol, the only vegetarian place in town (which was very good and worth visiting!).

The room was great, with a beautiful courtyard, Wi-Fi access (not easy to come by in Havana), and very clean. Plants abound, they get a new one and name it after the guests each time someone stays with them
with them, so we have our own plant next time we return. 😊 We’d be remiss not to mention Flo, the cutest little dog you’ve ever seen.

But the biggest highlight of the trip, and our stay, was Claudia’s cooking. She is *the* vegan chef of Havana. We had breakfast every morning, that always included fresh fruit, hummus, guacamole, breads, tea and coffee, and then something extra special - mung bean pancakes, egg salad, baked custard…all homemade, all vegan, all amazing.

One breakfast convinced us to have dinner a few nights as well. Dinner consisted of multi-course meals (one night a pumpkin soup, another a carrot-top pesto) with amazing sides and of course homemade desserts (tiramisu, gingerbread truffles) again, all vegan, all amazing. These meals were the best we had in Havana, and typically the cheapest.

In retrospect, we couldn’t imagine being plant-based and staying anywhere else in Havana. Support this lovely couple, eat well, and have an amazing trip to Cuba!

GeorgiaRomeril

Points +54

Vegetarian
12 Jan 2020

Loved it!

Stayed here for a few days at the end of our 2 week trip and it was the perfect way to finish! We only ate breakfast but it was lovely; coffee, toast, avocado, hummus, locally made cheese and banana bread. Eduardo and Claudia were such brilliant hosts, so friendly and helpful and their courtyard is beautiful. We especially miss their gorgeous little dog and cat. There are a number of veggie and vegan places not far away.

heather6thsense

Points +495

Vegan
17 Sep 2019

Paradise in Cuba

Fantastic place to stay and the food is delicious. This is a place not to be missed while visiting Cuba. The hosts, Eduardo and Claudia are wonderful people. We loved staying here. The food is amazing and it’s such a lovely place to stay.

Pros: Great food, Fantastic hospitality , Clean and comfortable

hostalPatio27

19 Sep 2019

Thank you so much, Heather for you nice rewiev. For us it is a pleasure to have you in our home

TaraDemelza

Points +52

Vegan
08 Aug 2019

Perfect stay in Havana, book now!

Eduardo and Claudia's place was truly the highlight of our Cuba trip - we wish we had stayed longer. It was such a relief to come off the plane and see a sign with our names at the airport. Once we were settled Eduardo kindly gave us a tour around the local area, pointing out where we should explore and buy presents. He also kindly helped us with local taxis into Old Habana (city centre) and organising a group taxi to Varadero for us. They have the cutest pup, Flo, who we miss so much (P.S. she's a big fan of playing fetch with her ball and enjoys a lap sit).

The breakfasts were an amazing spread of fresh fruit, cereals, breads and dips including Claudia's homemade guacomole, houmous, and our favourite sweet potato houmous. It was so lovely to come downstairs to the vibrant plant-filled patio each morning.

As an extra we also asked for dinner (multi-course to our surprise!!) on our first night which was absolutely incredible, my not-yet-vegan boyfriend was just as impresssed as I was, we're both still dreaming about the soup! In retrospect of our whole trip, this was definitely the best food on the island! 100% worth it.

Thank you both very very much! Hopefully see you again!

Tara and Harry

Updated from previous review on 2019-08-08

Pros: Incredible dinner, Breakfast spread, Good value and comfortable room

AlexVertbois

Points +100

Vegan
05 Apr 2019

Great vegan-friendly place to stay in Havana

This is a really great vegan-friendly place. Eduardo provided quick responses to all our questions beforehand, arranged taxis to the airport and beach (even showing up in person at the airport to meet us), and provided amazing breakfasts. The breakfasts included local tropical fruits, muesli with plant-based milk, seeds, and dried fruits, bread with a variety of homemade spreads made out of sweet potatoes or beans, some homemade pastries made out of things like nuts and sweet potatoes, and a variety of teas and coffee. This filling and delicious breakfast fuelled us for much of the day and was available at a very reasonable price. The vegetarian restaurant Camino del Sol is about 20 minutes walk away. We had our own room with a bathroom and a small fridge which had a separate entrance. Everything was super clean and the cleaner came in daily. The room was up a narrow flight of stairs so is not accessible to people with mobility issues. There is a lovely patio area where we ate our breakfasts and could use for sitting. It's shaded and is the favourite lounging spot of an 18-year-old cat whose job is to keep rival cats from sneaking in and making off with food!

Pros: Awesome and filling breakfasts, Very helpful and friendly hosts, Good location, clean room with en-suite bathroom

Cons: Need to be able to manage stairs

hostalPatio27

12 Apr 2019

thank you very much! we appreciate your rewiew and also the cat Melina. We hope to see you again!

bogosk

Points +37

Vegan
05 Apr 2019

One amazing week

Eduardo and Claudia were our awesome hosts for the week we stayed at their home. Eduardo has a PhD in Endocrinology, professor and a dominoes shark. He picked us up at the airport at midnight, made us over the top vegan breakfasts with tropical fruits galore which carried us till dinner and muchos conversation. We hung out in their beautiful garden patio. I can’t begin to describe how welcoming they were to us, first time newbie visitors to Cuba Libré.

Updated from previous review on 2019-04-05

Pros: Clean private room, Awesome food, Awesome company and help

Cons: zip, zip, zip

dunc_the_thin_vegan

Points +16

Vegan
18 Jan 2019

Lovely Stay

The combination of a nice, spacious room, outstanding food (brekkie and dins), and lovely people (animals too) made this the best place we stayed in Cuba. We had all vegan food, and it was very varied and creative. Everything made from scratch, so wonderful. We were also very happy to stay in Vedado rather than Habana vieja, we still walked everywhere each day and it felt a bit more relaxed. Hopefully one day we'll visit again, thank you Eduardo and Claudia!

Pros: Food, People, Clean and spacious room

Shannon_Z

Points +21

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

A vegan paradise in Havana

Eduardo and Claudia are as lovely as their garden of rare orchids, and we are so happy we found them here on Happy Cow, and that we followed the advice below (“If you’re a vegan in Havana, stay here”). The room is very comfortable, the neighborhood is great, the hosts are wonderful company, and the food is fabulous. Eduardo recommended a few vegan restaurants nearby, but after having a couple of Claudia’s dinners we didn’t want to eat anywhere else! And breakfast on the patio each morning was amazing too - we are already missing the fresh local fruit and Cuban coffee. Like others here have said, they made us feel very welcome - like friends rather than guests. Staying with them was definitely a highlight of our trip!

GabrielG

Points +13

Mostly Veg
04 Jan 2019

Perfect!

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Eduardos and Claudias place. The room was very comfortable and they made us feel very much at home. Claudias vegan cooking was some of the best food we ate during our whole visit to Cuba, was different each day and always consisted of more than one dish. Eduardo and Claudia made us feel more like close friends than tourists and we can only recommend anyone visiting Havana to stay with them!

Elisa_M

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2019

amazing meals - wonderful hosts

I ve been in Hostel Patio De 27 two times and loved everything. Claudia and Eduardo are kind, helpful and wonderful people. The food was delicious. Claudia is THE best vegan food cook in Cuba. She surprised us every day with new creations. (please ask her for her handmade truffles!) The room is comfortable and clean. The patio is a wonderful place to sit and eat. Vedado for me is the best area to go in Havana. It is more calm then the historical part of Havana and more authentic. I highly recommend this place. You will love it!

LexHijmans

Points +22

Vegan
31 Dec 2018

wonderful place

Eduardo (cuban) and Claudia(italian) run this one bedroom casa particular and do it in a wonderful way. Not only is Claudia " probably" the best vegan cook of Havana but a very gentle and caring person as is Eduardo. They wil do a big effort to make you have a comfortable stay........Love them dearly. Thanks again! You really made me a home and a place that felt like home. You feel like friends...

Pros: great food, lovely people, well situated

Cons: they live on a very busy street so a 'bit' noisy

hostalPatio27

31 Dec 2018

Thank you Lex! Also for us it was a pleasure to have you at home with us and take care of you as another member of our family ! Flo misses you and says you Hallo! :))

LisaM_K

Points +20

Vegan
23 Oct 2018

If you're a vegan in Havanna, stay here

Me and my friend were staying at Claudia's and Eduardo's place for three nights. The room is spacious and very clean, but what made our stay special is the hospitality of the hosts and the food. Eduardo picked us up from the airport and organized everything we needed. Claudia is an awesome cook and we really enjoyed all the meals (breakfast and dinner) we had. Seriously, you won't find a better place to eat in Cuba. But we also felt treated like family/friends and not guests.

hostalPatio27

23 Oct 2018

Hi Lisa,
Thank you! For us it was a real pleasure to have you as guests and we are happy that you found yourself well in our home.
We hope to see you again!

Jakob@HappyCow

Points +16

Vegan
11 Jul 2018

Perfect start for my trip in Cuba

They picked me up, made me dinner, served breakfast when I wanted, introduced me to the city and helped me organizing my next steps for my trip.

I realized after I left, how good the food was!

maja95

Points +13

Vegetarian
12 Jun 2018

A Havanna Haven

I had numerous meals at Patio de 27 in beautiful Vedado during my month-long stay in Havana, and was constantly amazed by both the quality of the food and the hospitality of the people. Claudia makes wonderful Italian-Cuban fusion from high quality products, and was very eager to adapt to our taste preferences. In general, it was very difficult to find vegetarian food in Cuba, Havana included, so we were beyond thrilled to find this little vegetarian sanctuary. The food was tasty, healthy, and a very longed for break from the vegetarian staple food: rice and beans. Come here and you'll find yourself a new favourite spot to eat and socialize!

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly and helpful hosts

Cons: If you don't live in Vedado, it's a bit of a walk

lisa_sweden

Points +13

Vegetarian
10 May 2018

The best vegan food in Cuba!

Hostal Patio de 27 offers the best vegan food I've ever eaten! It is the perfect mix of traditional food from Cuba and Italy, where the different ingredients and tastes combine in the best of ways. We enjoyed several dinners here during our stay in Havana, and we were never disappointed. There were always lots of different dishes to choose from, with vegan proteins and call kinds of veggies. The food was always freshly cooked with local products from the markets around town. The hosts were open for what we as guests preferred and we always felt very taken care of by the fantastic hosts. As a big plus, Vedado is a beautiful part of Havana and enjoying the delicious food in the cozy patio of the house in Vedado is a fantastic experience. This place is a must if you visit Havana, don't miss it! I promise that you will come back many times once you've experienced it.

Pros: Amazing food, Fantastic hosts, Lots of alternatives

hostalPatio27

10 May 2018

Thank you Lisa, having Maja and you as guests was a wonderful experience for us. You were our first customers and with you we have inaugurated our B&B under the best auspices. We hope to have you again with us soon! With love
Claudia & Eduardo




This page has been viewed 5408 times.