• Haskell's House

  • (7)
    3
    Loading...
  • Hotel B&B

Charming 1930s clapboard house enveloped in tropical foliage. Offers room for rent, with a minimum stay requirement. Please visit its webpage for booking & details.


Venue map for Haskell's House
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by mesayhey

AdamtheAdventurer

Points +13

Mostly Veg
21 Jun 2024

Return visit!

Visit 2 (four months):

It was really great to return to Haskell's House! I would echo the comments I made below regarding my first visit. The house is in a great location and I would use the provided bicycle to travel to Birch State Park and the beach almost every day!! You really can get away with NOT having a car! As a Michigander (resident of Michigan lol) I love having this home away from home during the winter months.

Visit 1 (five months):

I feel very blessed and fortunate to have found Cara and Gary and their Haskell's House! The home is quite lovely and comfortable and reflects the love of the owners. The premises are very well maintained and so much thought went into every detail and amenity! From a Vitamix, to a cast iron skillet, everything I needed was provided--Gary even loaned me some of his dress clothes so that I could attend church services! The setting is a bit like stepping into the past when things were simpler and certainly less bound up with technology. I really appreciated the ability to work remotely via ethernet (cables provided) in a space that allowed me to breathe fresh air from the beautiful and dense foliage of the property. Throughout my five month stay, I was fed, loved and learned a lot. Sometimes life gives you much more than you expect and this relationship certainly falls into that category. I realize that this posting may make it more difficult for me to find an empty room at Haskell's House, but, sharing is caring. The world could use more people who live by example and, as Gary says, "walk gently on the Earth".

Updated from previous review on 2024-06-21

Pros: composting, huge shady lychee tree in backyard, animal lovers

Scottdr

Points +16

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

Thank goodness for Haskell's House

It could take awhile to describe the full scope of the many benefits realized from my four-month stay at Haskell’s House, but here are some of the reasons for my gratitude. Before moving here I had a challenging seven months due to the state of my health and five changes of residence. Knowing that Cara and Gary live next door made me feel very secure. Before this move I was sharing the kitchen in a home with two others and was therefore especially appreciative to have a kitchen of my own again. This kitchen felt like one of the best with a good amount of space and a large classic stove to cook on. It contains about all that is needed for any vegetarian preparation. I put the water filter and pressure cooker to good use. Taking a break from the proximity and use of Wi-fi has felt especially restful, while connection to the internet was of excellent quality. I will miss a particular appreciation for this place that was felt daily when leaving my room for the first time, typically in the late morning, and seeing the nicely furnished living room full of natural light reflecting a century-old era. It was very fortunate for me to have this stay at Haskell’s House.

lmaguirre

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2020

Wonderful stay

My monthlong stay in this home was wonderful, quiet, and very relaxing - exactly what I was looking for. The vegetation and trees are beautiful and offer privacy. With the windows open and all the fresh air coming in, it feels like living in the middle of a native plant garden. The house itself has a nice backyard area to sit in and a front porch to enjoy. The neighborhood is great as well; I spent every afternoon or evening riding my bike, going for runs, or walking. There is a lovely park within walking distance and other parks and the beach are a short trip away, as are downtown and numerous restaurants, including Tarpon River Brewing. Cara and Gary were very thoughtful and welcoming neighbors and hosts. I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

greentraveler123

Points +18

Vegetarian
14 Mar 2020

Multiple enjoyable stays

Wanted to share my experience with Haskell's House. I have stayed at this house a few times, and have had a very good experience each time. The house is private, comfortable, and clean. I enjoy staying in places that are environmentally responsible and also places that prefer to use natural and fragrance free products, which was one of the reasons I stayed here the first time. This house did not disappoint. The hosts are accommodating and friendly and are passionate about vegan/vegetarian lifestyles and care very much for the environment. Location is convenient. The house has alot of charm and makes you feel right at home. Two thumbs up!!!

Vrumph

Points +13

Vegetarian
22 Feb 2020

Beautiful house and wonderful stay

I lived in this house for over a year and it was a wonderful experience. To begin with, the house is absolutely beautiful and charming. The location is fantastic being right downtown but with all of the vegetation around the house, it felt very private. I loved having all the trees around and being able to leave the windows open and always have fresh air. The house is very clean with no chemicals used inside or out ever. They have lots of appliances and cookware. Cara and Gary are very accommodating and friendly. They are always there to help if you are in need of anything. The neighborhood is wonderful too! So many cute houses and streets to walk and an adorable park right on the river. There’s a nice coffee shop and brewery in walking distance, as well as a Publix, an organic urban farm, and many restaurants. Close to the river walk and Las Olas. You are in for a big treat if you come stay at the Haskell House! It is truly lovely.

CharlottenPeter

Points +6

Non Veg
14 Feb 2020

Lovely

Fragrance- and Wi-Fi free environment also suitable for people suffering from mild to moderate Multiple Chemical Sensitivity and/or Electro Hyper Sensitivity. A beautiful little house and garden in lovely Fort Lauderdale. We loved it there!

Pros: Friendly owners, Good value - and good neighbourhood, Nice house with ethernetconnection. No fragrances

Cons: Kitchen sink was out of order at the time we were , ..there, but we knew that in advance.

mesayhey

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Mar 2019

Great Spot

Haskell's House is a great spot, convenient to everything and located in a quiet neighborhood. All amenities are provided for cooking in. Owners Cara and Jim live next door if you need anything. The place is clean and comfortable. I have visited there several times and look forward to returning again.

Pros: Very clean, centrally located, good value




This page has been viewed 9391 times.